PHONE: (02) 4321 6400 Enrolments
Years 7 and 8 Oztag Gala Day
On 1 June St Edward’s College was represented by two junior teams at the Central Coast All Schools Oztag Gala Day. After numerous trials due to the amount of students who wanted to represent the College, it was clear that the teams were going to be strong.

The Year 7 team were in a competitive pool and only narrowly missed a place in the finals by finishing 3rd. The boys comfortably won their first game against Green Point Christian College. They narrowly lost their second game after they were down 4-0 in the opening minutes against Northlakes High School. They showed resilience and determination to make a comeback and narrowly lose the game 4-3. The game against Wadalba High School was extremely challenging as they were a well drilled and very experienced team. The final pool game against Gorokon High School saw the boys win comfortably and finish the day on a high. The support of the parents and the sportsmanship shown by the players added to the success and enjoyment of the day.

Our Year 8 team demonstrated their outstanding ability, winning all of the games in their pool by a considerable margin. The finals proved to be a bit tougher and in the grand final against Tumbi Umbi  High School there were a few nervous moments on the sideline, but the boys’ structure proved unbeatable when they took home the win 4-2. The sportsmanship and teamwork which was displayed throughout the day was commendable and it was amazing to see them represent the College with such maturity. A special mention to Year 10 students Tyrone Dorrell and Jackson Herbert who coached the team, and shared their knowledge and experience of the game, which the students clearly benefitted from. A special congratulations to Archie Mesritz who was awarded man of the match in the grand final and received a medal for his efforts.

Our Year 8 team will represent the College again in June at the Champion of Champions Tournament.

Year 7 Team:  Cody Diamond, Taj Gooley, Cooper Hall, Zach Herring, Bray Kurzydlo, Nixon Lavin, Brady Mackay, Will McClelland, Arian McGuinness, Tahj Regattieri, Billy Sands, Ryan Smith

Year 8 Team: 

Josh Brown, Archie Carpenter, Darcy de Vries,  Sam Flakus, Tom Flynn, Sam Logan, Will Lynch, Archie Mesritz, Caleb Peterson, Luke Shereb, Fletcher Sommerville, Harper Turner, Riley Turner