PHONE: (02) 4321 6400 Enrolments
The Year in Sport
This year will certainly go down as one of our most successful in recent memory. A steady stream of individual achievements was supported by some truly outstanding team accomplishments.

The crowning glory this year was the Open Rugby League team winning the NRL Schoolboy Trophy. We also had the Year 9 and 10 Touch Football team make the final of the National Schools Cup, the Under 14 Rugby League team win the NSW All Schools Title and the Cochrane Cup, the Under 15 Rugby League team win the NSW All Schools Title. The Under 15 Rugby Union 7’s team also made the final of the NSW All Schools Championships.

Our College carnivals continued to showcase the enormous wealth of talent we have but they also promote fun and participation as a means of supporting and competing for your House.

In the Broken Bay Diocesan (BBSSSA) competitions, we had continued success in Swimming, Cross Country, Athletics, Touch Football, Basketball, Football, Waterpolo and Beach Volleyball. On top of this we had numerous students excel, including:

BBSSSA Swimming:

  • Age Champion Under 15 – Daniel McLoughlin
  • 10 students qualified to represent BBSSSA.

BBSSSA Cross Country:

  • Nate Vaughan (Under 12), Keenan White (Under 13), Cooper Notley (Under 14), Gabe Scott (Under 15), Tom Herbert (Under 16) and Daniel Hope (Under 17) winning their Age Groups.
  • 20 students qualified to represent BBSSSA.

BBSSSA Athletics:

  • Lincoln Markulin (Under 13) and Cameron Steer (Under 16) winning their Age Groups.
  • Callum Sutton (Under 17+) set a New Discus Record – 47.19m – breaking his previous mark from last year.
  • The 12-13 Boys Relay team (Jay Clarke, Riley Scott, Jimmy Stuart and Chris Rae) setting a New Record of 52.10 sec.
  • 25 students qualified to represent BBSSSA

Outside BBSSSA competitions, our teams flourished in various NSWCCC and NSW All School Competitions.

  • Cricket:

Berg Shield Team – 3rd Place NSWCCC Competition (2018-19)

  • Basketball:

Year 7 and 8 Team- NSWCCC Quarter-Finalists
Year 9 and 10 Team – NSWCCC Semi-Finalists
Open Team – NSWCCC Semi-Finalists

  • Tennis:

Championship Team – NSWCCC Championships

  • Football:

Under 15 Bill Turner Cup – Central Coast Area Champions
Intermediate Team – NSWCCC Competition
Open Team – NSWCCC Competition

  • Rugby Union:

Under 14 Waratah Cup Team – NSW State Finalists
Under 16 Waratah Cup Team – NSW State Championships
Under 13, 7’s Team – NSW State – Semi-Finalist
Under 15, 7’s Team – NSW State Runners-Up
Under 17, 7’s Team – NSW State Semi-Finalist

  • Touch Football:

Year 9 and 10 Team – National Schools Cup Runners-Up
Year 9 and 10 Team – NSW All Schools – Semi-Finalist

  • Rugby League:

Under 13 Team – NSW All School Semi-Finalists
Under 14 Team – NSW All School Champions
Under 14 Team – Cochrane Cup Champions
Under 15 Team – NSW All School Champions
Open Team – NRL Schoolboy Trophy Champions
Open Team – NSW City Champions

  • Oztag:

Year 8 Team – NSW Champion of Champions Semi-Finalist

On top of this success, we also had numerous individuals shine in their chosen sports. Some of the College highlights included:

  • Sasha Kuzevski being selected in the Australian Schoolboys Under 18 Football Team. He will tour the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in January 2020.
  • Daniel McLoughlin placed 2nd in the Under 15 50m Butterfly at the NSW All Schools Carnival.
  • Ben Dufficy played in the winning NSWCCC Uunder15 Rugby League team at the ASSRL Championships in QLD.
  • Ben Dufficy and Toby Paterson making the NSW All-Schools Touch Football Team and winning the National Championships. Ben was selected in the Merit Team from the carnival.
  • Kieran Diamond and Tyrone Dorrell both selected in the NSW Boys Year 7 and 8 Oztag Merit team from the Champion of Champions tournament.
  • Callum Sutton (19 years) winning a Gold Medal in the Discus Throw at the NSW All-Schools carnival.
  • Jay Clarke (12 years) winning 4 individual medals at the NSWCCC Athletics carnival.
  • The following boys were also selected to represent NSWCCC: Chet Robinson (Baseball), Keenan White (Cross Country), Cooper Notley (Cross Country), Lulu Paea (Rugby Union), Ben Dufficy (Rugby Union), Joel Sherub (Touch Football), Kieran Diamond (Touch Football), Owen Flaherty (Touch Football), Josh Woutersz (Touch Football), Sandon Smith (Touch Football), Chris Murray (AFL) and Zane Kirkman (AFL).

Finally, and it goes without mention, I thank the tireless efforts of the coaches and managers of our teams, for giving up their time to guide the young men of St Edward’s. Much of the success we have seen this year is certainly due to their continued time and effort. I would also like to personally thank Mr Scott Murray in his role as Assistant Leader of Learning – Sport, for his professionalism, invaluable knowledge and assistance with sport here at the College.

This year has been a fantastic year for the Red and Black of St Edward’s.