PHONE: (02) 4321 6400 Enrolments
Open’s Rugby League
The Open’s Rugby League team travelled down to Kerlie Park, Manly to play in the Sydney City Rugby League Finals Day.

After battling washouts, venue changes and traffic on the way down we thought we were finally going to be able to play some footy. During the warm-up we were told that Tuggerah Lakes Secondary College had pulled-out of the day. This meant a change to the draw and game times.

We eventually got out there to play Alexandria Park School (South Sydney Region) in our first game. A timid first set from both teams saw us finally get the ball and from there we ran away with the game winning comfortably 38-0. This was highlighted by some individual brilliance and support play in scoring several of our tries. It was great to see Sione Ofahengaue in Year 12, Sean Bullen in Year 11, Kurt Halls in Year 11 and DeVontae Votuua in Year 10, play their first game with the Opens team.

There was a short turn-around into our second and final game (15 mins), which then became an actual Grand Final against De La Salle College (Cronulla Region). The game time was extended to warrant this, and it helped us with the result in the end.

The game in the first half was a very tough and brutal match, with both teams trading some big hits and heavy contact. The game was fought in the middle and did not allow our slick backs many opportunities to get into the game. De La Salle scored first, late in the first half to lead 4-0 at the break. The team identified a few things to work on in the second half and went about capitalising on those changes. Changing angles and retreating our markers took away the wrestle and ruck control De La Salle had over us in the first half. This allowed us to play off some momentum going forward scoring tries from Malachai Smith and Tommo Peters.

We eventually ran out winners 12-4 in a very tight game. A fantastic result that showed true grit and determination from the team.

The Team

Harry Bates, Sean Bullen, Leroy Carter-Mason, Charlie Cartwright, Ethan Cohen, Tyrone Dorrell, Atticus Fotofili, Kurt Halls, Aymn Hamilton, Jack Legge, Emmett Newlands, Emmet Nicholls, Sione Ofahengaue, Tommo Peters, Sebastian Plaister, Jackson Ryan, Joel Shereb, Malachai Smith, Zane Smith,  Mason Stafford, DeVontae Votuua, Cruz Yarnold